Huevos Rancheros

Huevos rancheros is a South American dish and the name of it means something in the lines with “eggs of the ranchers”. The legend says that this dish started out as just that, an easy breakfast for the farmers – eggs and salsa in a tortilla.

Here is how I do it:

This dish has become one of my absolute favorite breakfast dishes and even if I keep it simple in my version, I have added everything I love on top of the eggs and if you ask me, it kinda kicks ass…

2014-07-07 12.45.21

This is what you need for each serving:

  1. Let us start by doing the refried beans. You can obviously buy them canned but it’s so easy to make them yourself so I don’t understand why you would?! Chop up a yellow onion and fry it in a generous splash of oil until the onion goes soft, throw a tablespoon or so of cumin in there together with a can of pre cooked black beans (or whatever bean you fancy) and cook them until everything comes together and its easy for you to mush the onion and bean mix together with a fork.
  2. Now toast a tortilla bread of your liking (I prefer corn but wheat is going to work just fine!) in a pan until golden. this step can be skipped if you are in a rush, it tastes great with a non-toasted tortilla bread as well.
  3. Spread a spoonful or two of refried beans on the tortilla and top it with half a sliced avocado.
  4. Fry two eggs fried sunny side up, put some black pepper and salt on them and put them on top of the avocado.
  5. Now spread a few dollops of salsa sauce of the spice level of your liking (I prefer the mild version for breakfast but if you wanna go badass… be my guest!) and follow it up with the same amount of sour cream.
  6. Top it all off with a handful of fresh cilantro!
Leave a Reply

