Tiger cake

Here is a beautiful tiger striped chocolate and vanilla sponge cake based on a recipe that my dear grandmother gave me. It is both rich and light and it goes perfectly to a cup of coffee in the afternoon OR as a sweet breakfast-treat with an espresso and good company!

First of all, I have to tell you a little story of the original recipe that is the base of this tiger cake: For my birthday as a child, my grandmother always baked a small vanilla sponge cake for me and topped it with fresh wild strawberries. This sponge cake is not your average dry sponge but it is moist and lovely and light. It felt so special to have a little cake baked just for me and it brings out memories of picking wild berries in my grandmothers garden and thread them on a straw of grass.

I have taken this recipe and complicated it a bit. I am not saying it is better than the original (it absolutely isn’t!) but one day I tried to use the recipe as a base for something a little different and it turned out great!

Here is what you need: 

  • 200g butter
  • 1 1/2 dl milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 dl sugar
  • 4dl flour
  • 2 tsk baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons espresso or strong coffee
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract or vanilla sugar/powder

Here is what you do: 

  1. Start your oven and put it on 175 degrees celsius.
  2. Bring the butter and the milk to a boil and take of the heat to cool down.
  3. Whisk the eggs and the suger until it is fluffy and pale.
  4. Add the rest of the dry ingredients (except from the vanilla if you use the powdered stuff) to the egg mixture.
  5. add the warm buttery milk, little by little whilst mixing until you have a smooth batter.
  6. Transfer half of the batter to a new clean bowl and add the coffee and cocoa powder.
  7. Add the vanilla extract to the pale batter.
  8. Butter and bread a pan. I used a spring form but any old pan would work!
  9. Now to the pouring. Here you can go crazy creative or keep it simple. What I have done is that I have poured a little splash (about a deciliter) of vanilla batter in the center of the pan and then followed by pouring the same amount of chocolate batter in the center of the vanilla. I then repeated this until all the batter was gone and then I took the back of a fork and pulled straight lines around the cake- from the outside of the pan and in towards the middle- to create a pretty pattern.
  10. Bake in the middle of the oven for about 40 min or until you can put a knife in the middle of the cake and it comes out clean!

Leave a Reply

